A Break in Bleak

In this smoke is life and death.
Corrupt cops came and left.
I just need someone to tell
that I am not alright.

The success of art passed me
like the chances of a soul mate.
My foot stepped into shit
time and time again.

I am here though and fine
in my home and alive,
you couldn’t wish for more
than this peace.

Out there on the streets
in another land
are murders and rapes
and the bombs.

I need to work hard on crafts
that can reach to ears and eyes.
I just rely on surprise to teach me
that something is there.

Beware though the ego it is not your friend
and do not bend the truth.
Your shadow wants harm to you
but you think it wants love.

I am just not able to tell you
the things I must be able to know
in a word or two that can heal
that black weight in you.

Author: leeethomas

Visual Artist, musician and writer from Australia. Interested in Love and the Mind.

Leave a Reply

